Poems

Poem: Defying Gravity

Welcome back to Authoring Arrowheads! Today, I’ve decided to do something a little different. I’ve been writing stories since I was seven, but I went through a phase in high school where I wrote poetry for two years, much like Riley from my debut novel, Can’t Beat the Heart of a Carolina GirlMost of the poems were centered around crushes or my musings on love, but today’s main attraction, “Defying Gravity”, was written about overcoming fear of the judgment of others during high school. I’ve always been insecure and somewhat anxious, so this poem has always been one of my favorites. So, without further ado, here’s “Defying Gravity”!

 

Defying Gravity

DefyingGravity

Watch me defy gravity
With every step I take.
I’ll walk around air-free
At last carefree
Released of past mistakes.
I will not remain restrained.
I will not be cast into darkness.
I will not stand to be pushed down,
Because I’m marching on my own ground.
These dreams are my turf,
My destiny is my guide.
You will not control me this time.
No matter how hard you try,
I will discover my own way.
I will do as I say,
I will make something of myself.
Better than I was
Captive on the dusty shelf.
I’m free. I’m me.
At last, defying gravity.

Thanks for reading! Please feel free to leave a comment, or suggestions for future posts!

-Allyson 🙂

Leave a Reply

