Poems

Poem: If Tomorrow

So, in September of last year before I got the notion to publish Can’t Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl, I attempted to go back and dabble with writing poetry. I honestly don’t think that poetry is my strong suit, but so far people have seemed to like what I’ve written. Today’s poem is one of my newer ones, entitled “If Tomorrow”.

If Tomorrow

IfTomorrow

If tomorrow stopped the turn of time for you,

You ask what would I do?

If tomorrow were the end all of your existence,

It might as well be the end of mine, too.

For as great a love as we’ve contrived

In just six months’ time,

I can’t imagine living the remainder

Knowing my journey is so far behind.

If tomorrow threw us a loop

And robbed us the future we’ve dreamed

No matter who’s the one to go,

I beg you to remember me.

For I’ve known you 2 percent of my life

But that’s all I need to be whole.

I can’t imagine decreasing that timespan

Trying to reverse what I now know.

So if tomorrow stopped the turn of time for you,

You ask what would I do?

A piece of my own soul would pass as well,

For my soulmate will forever be you.

© Copyright Allyson Kennedy, 2017. All rights reserved.

 

Thanks for reading, Arrowheads! Come back now, ya hear! XD

-Allyson 😀

Leave a Reply

